Books that Remind Me of Classic Halloween Movies

Happy Halloween!! Hello, all, and welcome back to another installment of me finding an excuse to talk about movies on a book blog. I just really love those fun, campy Halloween movies. And then I thought, ‘hey, these movies are actually pretty similar to the plots of some books I’ve read’. And now here we are. The end.

Let’s get into it!

Okay, so I haven’t exactly read this book yet, but the comparison was just staring me in the face so I had to include it. Both include despaired relationships, Victorian themes, and, you know, reanimation. That’s a big one. Can’t forget about bringing the dead back to life.

I know Over the Garden wall is a miniseries and not a movie, but it’s an instant Halloween classic so I’m including it and there’s nothing you can do about it. Both this and The Darkest Minds feature some kids who just want to make their way back home, but keep running into scary things that maybe don’t want them to go home.

Ah, Halloweentown. It has such a professional looking poster that doesn’t at all look like it took 10 minutes to create in Photoshop. Anyway, both this and Nevermoor have unconventional families with the main character figuring out she has some…otherworldly…abilities. They both have to learn how to control it, and how to traverse a new world that they never knew existed.

I’m gonna be honest with you. I love Halloweentown, but the plots kinda get muddled together when it comes to the third and fourth movies. But I’m pretty sure this movie is the one where the characters go to a prestigious school and have to solve a mystery, which is exactly what happens in Truly Devious. Now, I’m not saying Maureen Johnson was watching the critically-acclaimed classic movie Return to Halloweentown when she got the idea for the plot for her novel, but I’m not saying she didn’t, either.

Okay, did I hate the book The House? Maybe. Did I give it 1 star? Yes. But I just wanted to mention the MASTERPIECE that is the movie Monster House, and this book has a very similar plot. Both feature creepy houses who protect the people who live in them and really don’t like it when some unwanted visitors come in. Like, REALLY don’t like it.

Okay, yes, I know it says Christmas, but if The Nightmare Before Christmas can be considered a Halloween movie then so can this one. Also, it’s the only Casper movie I remember watching and it truly scared me as a kid. Anyway, both these books feature some friendly ghosts who help the main character with their problems. Also there are some non-friendly ghosts, some of whom have an evil laugh that was probably not intended to be scary but I will still never be able to forget. Anyway…

So Happy Death Day probably can’t be considered a classic since it came out last year and not many people saw it, but this movie is SO much fun and I love it. Both feature main characters who are stuck in a Groundhog Day-esque time loop with a mystery they have to solve for the loop to be broken.


And those were some spooky-ish books and movies that reminded me of each other! I really love Halloween, and specifically fun Halloween movies, so I wanted to make a post to commemorate them. Do you guys have a favorite movie to watch on Halloween? Are there any book/movie comparisons that I missed? Let me know! ❤

Leave a comment