Monthly Wrap-Up! June 2017

Hey, guys! I can’t believe it’s July already. I can’t believe we’re 9 days into July already. I can’t believe this monthly wrap up post is 9 days late. Oh wait- no, I can believe that last one.


mwuhead1

A whopping 3 books! I have no excuse. I’ve been reading A Gathering of Shadows since March and I finally finished it, so even though I only read 3 books, I’m considering this month a personal victory. I really don’t know why it took me 4 months to read that book. It’s a good book. It’s not even that long. I really don’t know.

z24

I know this book sounds cute, and in the beginning it is actually cute, but the ending made me so irrationally angry that I kinda gave it 1 star out of spite. Whoops.

z25

I forgot to write a review on Goodreads for A Gathering of Shadows!! I think I may be cursed when it comes to this book. I’ll do a quick one right now:

4.5 stars!!! Don’t know why it took me so long to read, but every time I started the book back up again, I got instantly transfixed. The world building is some of the best I’ve ever seen and I feel so much for these characters. I care about Rhy the most though. I can’t wait to start book 3…which, at the rate I’m going, hopefully won’t take me half a year to read.


mwuhead2

Frogkisser! – If I were going to write a book, this is definitely the kind of book I would write. A princess goes off on a quest with her trusty royal dog who can also talk, and takes on a bunch of different travelers as she tries to turn her sister’s boyfriend, who is now a frog, back into a human. Also: no love interest for the princess! I love this book so much so far, if you couldn’t tell.

10 Things I Can See From Here – If you can consider “carrying a book around with me everywhere for the past couple of days and only managing to read the first page” as a book I’m currently reading…then yep, I’m currently reading this book.


mwuhead3

Not really! I haven’t done much in June. Although, these things definitely kept me from reading a lot more books:

  1. work…
  2. this adorable youtube channel of a married couple living in Japan and going on adventures
  3. a lot of podcasts, the 2 i’ve listened to the most being this amazingly detailed myths & legends podcast, and the stuff you should know podcast, which is surprisingly very educational and thankfully also consistently funny
  4. So. many. movies. I’ve watched…23 movies last month. And Baby Driver was absolutely, hands down, the best one.

That was my June!! How was your guys’ June? (Hopefully more eventful than mine.) What was your fave book of June? How’s your July so far? Let me know!

7 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up! June 2017

  1. Eep, 26 Kisses looks like a bust despite the cute cover! At least The Upside of Unrequited and AGOS made up for it, a bit, hopefully?

    I looove podcasts but it’s like a seasonal love for me. I tend to listen to TV, book and relationships-related podcasts more than the general knowledgey stuff, though – maybe I should give your mentions a try. 😉

    Hope you have a good July!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Whoooops, sorry for the late reply but yes, they definitely made up for it!! And I love those type of podcasts too tbh, so if you want some unsolicited recommendations: Overdue, Read it and Weep, and Anna Faris is Unqualified are all really great!!

      Like

  2. Shame about 26 kisses because it has such a nice cover. I absolutely loved Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda and I am sad that you did not like it. I often dislike very popular books, so I know from a personal opinion that we all can`t have the same taste in books. Which is actually great because everyone is entitled to their own unique reading experience:)

    http://www.carmensreadingcorner.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, if 26 Kisses had a less beautiful cover, I probably wouldn’t have read it lol. And I actually liked Simon vs! I just had too high expectations going into it and ended up giving it 3 stars. But I’m glad you loved it! And it is great that everyone has different opinions on popular books – it’s what makes the book community so interesting! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

