Monthly Wrap-Up! May 2017

It’s June!! Summer vacation is officially here. Well, for some of us at least. Sorry, adults.


mwuhead1

May was a month of extremes, book-reading wise. I gave two books 5 stars and one book 1 star, which are ratings I give out very rarely. (Try to guess which ones were which.) Maybe I was just feeling spicy last month. Uhh, that makes no sense, ignore that. Anyway, here are my brief and rambly reviews:

z19

Full review here!

z20

z21

z22

z23

Favorite Quote:

“We have to get used to the idea that no one cares as much as us, because guess what, they don’t. Succeed, fail, whatever, no one is going to give you a pat on the back for spending all hours of the day studying, or researching, or giving up everything to write. So we’ve got to just do it for ourselves.”
Lara Avery, The Memory Book

mwuhead2

upside

This book is so so so cute! I was really scared after reading her first book Simon Vs. that I wouldn’t like the characters in this, but I’m loving them so far. (Especially Reid…my son) It is starting to feel a little predictable though, and I’m still not sure I like Albertalli’s writing style, tbh.

mwuhead3

I’m gonna be totally honest with you guys, I can’t remember if I did anything of significant importance in May. I did watch a lot movies though. (the best of which were Moana and Hidden Figures, if you were interested.) So we’re just gonna skip over May. How is my reading in June so far? Oh wow, glad you asked. The first book I read in June I gave 1 star, so I think I’m off to a bad start. The worst start, you could say. But it’s my goal to read more than 5 books this month! I’ve been stuck in a rut of 5 books per month and I don’t like it. I mean, 5 is still pretty good, but for a girl in the middle of her summer vacation working a part-time job and having nothing else to do, I should be reading a whole lot more. Although I’ve gotten really into podcasts in May (like really, really) and that’s taken up a lot of my time, so if any of you want podcast recommendations…I got ’em.


Aaaand that was my May! How was your May?? If you did anything cool you should totally tell me about it so I can live vicariously through you. But on a less creepy note, did you guys read any of these books? Do you agree or disagree with my reviews? Let me know! ❤

2 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up! May 2017

  1. I read We Were Liars a few months back. The twist at the end was very unexpected since I started reading the book without knowing anything. I was speechless and suddenly my eyes were filled with tears. Like it is so heart wrenching. I have never cry over a book before and this is the first one which did just that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

