10 Reasons Why I (Probably) Won’t Read/Finish A Book

Guess who’s back! It’s me. My hiatus is officially over. (2 days early! Go me.) And what better way to get back into blogging than by talking about things I hate in books? (Anyway else, probably.) Regardless, let’s do this!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s theme: Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly NOT Want To Read A Book


1. A Character Pretends to be Another Character

Nope! Nope. Nope nope nope nope. I don’t care if it’s a person physically shape-shifting into someone else or someone pretending to be their friend while texting, I hate it.

2. Miscommunication

It’s such a cheap conflict: a character misunderstands something and spends a large chunk of the book with information we know isn’t true. It doesn’t serve any purpose other than to mess up relationships (and annoy me.)

3. ‘Special Snowflake’ Main Character

You know the one. The character who’s instantly loved by everyone, who’s great at everything they do, and who’s different from everybody else.

4. Suicide/Self Harm as the Conflict

If it’s described is small doses I’m okay with it, but if it’s continuously shown or talked about it becomes a little too much for me too handle.

5. Love Triangles

There’s always exceptions for this trope, but I’d rather read a book that focuses on one romantic relationship rather than reading about two half-baked romances that ultimately end in someone getting hurt.

6. Misinformation About a Certain Group

Ranging from an author being misinformed about a kind of mental or physical illness, or portraying a minority group in a stereotypical/uninformed manner. Or if the author is just overtly ableist or racist.

7. I’m Not Into the Cover

What can I say? I’m shallow. If a book is receiving a lot of praise but it has an ugly cover, I’ll buy it. (Or, better yet, get it on ebook so I don’t have to see the cover.) But if at first glance I see an unappealing cover, I’ll probably just walk right by it.

8. Info-Dumping

I hate when you can just tell you’re in the exposition stage. Like when the first couple of chapters are dedicated to describing the world and the characters and no plot happens.

9. Dystopian Setting

I’m just really not into dystopians anymore. Let’s be honest, it peaked with The Hunger Games.

10. Unnatural Dialogue

The writing could be magnificent, but if characters speak like robots or like what an alien thinks a human sounds like, I can’t read it. Flowing dialogue that matches with the characters is such a necessity for me.


I think this is the first Top 10 where I actually could think of way more than just 10??

Honorable mentions: animal abuse, pitting girls against each other, unoriginal plot, books centered around the holocaust, bullying, flat characters

Are any of these reasons on your lists? Do you actually love any of these kinds of books? Let me know!

 

11 thoughts on “10 Reasons Why I (Probably) Won’t Read/Finish A Book

Leave a Reply

