Book Tag Saturday: The Nintendo Book Tag!

Welcome back to Book Tag Saturday everyone!! Also just a warning: I have the flu and I have eaten nothing but medicine and pop-tarts in the past 2 days so if the things I say in this post make 0 sense, I’m sorry.

Anyway, I’d like to thank Nadwa @ Painfully Fictional for tagging me!!  I honestly love everything and anything Nintendo related and have ever since I was little, so to say I’m excited to do this tag is a little bit of an understatement. So… let’s get started!


NES (NINTENDO ENTERTAINMENT SYSTEM): A CLASSIC YOU WANT TO READ

emma

Uhhh, classics and I don’t exactly get along very well. I probably won’t read any classics unless I actually have to, but if I had to pick one it’d probably be Emma by Jane Austen. The only classic I ever really liked was Pride & Prejudice, so I’d like to read another one of her novels. Plus my favorite movie of all time (Clueless) is based off of that book so to read the original story would be pretty cool.

SNES (SUPER NINTENDO): A SEQUEL YOU LIKED MORE THAN THE FIRST (CAN BE A SECOND BOOK IN A SERIES)

heir

Kind of an unconventional answer to this question, but I liked the two extra books of The Selection series way more than the actual original series. It may have something to do with the fact that I didn’t like America Singer. (Or a lot to do.) (Mostly a lot.)

NINTENDO 64: A BOOK THAT REVOLUTIONIZED THE WAY YOU LOOK AT THE WORLD

wrinkle

Not sure if I ever talked about this, but A Wrinkle in Time is the book that first got me into reading! It was the first great fantasy book I ever read, and my little kid mind was blown. (Mostly by all the graphs and math equations in this book but also by the story.) It also made me realize that I wanted to be a writer so I could write as creative and imaginative a book as this one.

GAMECUBE: A POPULAR BOOK THAT DID NOT GO OVER SO WELL WITH YOU

program

Okay, so this book was popular about 3 years ago, but I only read it like a month ago and I….did not like it. I thought using suicide as a plot device was cheap, to put it nicely, and the rest was just boring.

WII: A NEW FAVORITE BOOK

kill

I’m gonna take the ‘new’ part of this question very literally. I just finished this book a few days ago and it was so good!! I loved the writing style and the fact that I also love the movie adaptation (Edge of Tomorrow) didn’t hurt either.

NINTENDO POWER: FAVORITE GRAPHIC NOVEL SERIES OR A SERIES YOU WANT TO START

saga

I admit that I haven’t really read any graphic novels…but when I start, I definitely want to start with this series! I’ve heard nothing but good things about it. Plus the art is amazing and I can’t resist a good fantasy.

SUPER MARIO: A CHARACTER THAT YOU’D LOVE TO SQUISH LIKE A GOOMBA

stilllife

You’d think I’d go for a villain for this question, but no…the main character of this book, whose name I already forgot, was so annoying to me and I kinda wanted to kill her the whole time I was reading this.

ZELDA: A NEWER FANTASY THAT YOU CONSIDER TO BE A MODERN CLASSIC

cinder

I definitely have to agree with Nadwa for this one: The Lunar Chronicles is still a really new series but it already has such a huge fanbase and definitely won’t be forgotten any time soon. (Also, it’s amazing.)

SAMUS-ARAN: FAVORITE SCI-FI NOVEL OR ONE YOU WANT TO READ

girl

Ohhhhh, so many to choose from. I’ve already named a lot of sci-fi books I loved in this tag, so I’m gonna go with one I really want to read: The Girl With All the Gifts. It’s like X-men in book form, which is all I could ever ask for honestly.

POKEMON: BOOK EDITIONS THAT YOU WANT TO COLLECT

cityseries.png

I love the new Shadowhunters covers so much more than the original covers. (bolded AND italicized for emphasis) Problem is…I already bought all the books in their old covers and have no reason to buy them all again besides making my bookshelf look nicer. Maybe one day I’ll buy them. When I win the lottery or something.

DONKEY KONG: A BOOK WITH ORIGINAL CHARACTERS

animators

While I had some…issues…with this book, I can’t deny that it didn’t have an huge assortment of unique characters. These characters were some of the most realistic people I’ve read about in a while. And it was refreshing to read a book where the main characters can’t always say the right things or be great at everything they do.

NINTENDO FANDOM: FAVORITE NINTENDO GAME(S) OR GAME

ac

Animal Crossing, definitely. While I love basically every Nintendo game I play, the Animal Crossing series is the only one I can never get bored of. (I’m still playing it- I actually played it today.) I can’t count the number of times I’ve turned to these games when I was down and it still has never failed to cheer me up. This series has been by my side for a good 10 years and I’m so grateful for it. Alright, sappiness over. Here’s a cute gif:

ac1

I tag…

okay, everyone I was going to tag has already been tagged/already done it.

So, if you read this and you like Nintendo, consider yourself tagged!

Leave a Reply

