Book Tag Saturday: Ringing In the New Year!

Happy New Year (+77 days) you guys! (Yes, I did just do actual math. I hope you all are impressed.) I’d like to thank Kester @ LILbooKlovers for tagging me!! Their blog is run by three people writing great book reviews, giveaways, interviews, and a lot more, so go check them out! Also sorry it took so long for me to get to this, but I never really made any new year’s resolutions so this tag is a great way to start. Better late than never!


Best book/series you’ve read in 2016?

Best book: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell!! I’ve mentioned this book way too many times but I’m doing it again. I love it.

Best series: The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer! I wasn’t that into the series in the first two books, but I definitely got more invested and kind of cried a little bit when it ended.

Authors that you’ve recently found and would to read more of in the New Year:

Rainbow Rowell! I love her writing and her humor in Fangirl. BUT it’s the only book I’ve read from her, and, given that it was my favorite book of the year, I should really read more of them because I’ll probably love them.

Ooh, also Emma Mills. I read her most recent book and fell in love with her writing style, so I really want to read her debut this year.

Most anticipated book turned TV/Movie show:

At the beginning of the year it was the Before I Fall movie, but by now I’ve watched it (and liked it!) so I should probably pick something else.  Uhhh, I guess the 13 Reasons Why series? I didn’t like the book that much, but the show sounds much more promising.

Name a character that you wouldn’t mind sharing a kiss on midnight:

I’m gonna go with a new favorite: Rhy from the Shades of Magic trilogy! I think I just have a thing for egotistic princes.

rhy

What’s on my TBR for 2017?

Well, I currently have a TBR of like 200+ books so… all of those. The book I’m most excited for is probably Caraval, and I also really, really, want to start the Am I Normal Yet? series, because it’s so well-loved and seems right up my alley. But I want to buy them first because the covers are so pretty. 

Will you participate in the Goodreads reading challenge or any other?

Yes to the Goodreads challenge! I’m 23 books out of 60 right now, and according to Goodreads that means I’m 11 books ahead of schedule! If I complete it, 60 books will be the most I’ve ever read in a year so that’s exciting.

Any New Year’s resolution (bookish, blogging, or otherwise)?

Ahhh, I don’t really have any concrete resolutions. I do want to work out more though. And get better at time management. And finish the Goodreads challenge, of course.

Blogging-wise, I definitely want to  get a solid schedule for which days I’m going to post and get better at actually scheduling instead of usually writing posts the day they’re supposed to go up. (Again: poor time management skills).  But on a more fun note, I also want to start requesting ARCs for review! I have a Netgalley profile all set up but I think I’ve just been too scared of rejection to use it? Whoops.


I’m not going to tag anyone since it’s relatively late in the year for this tag, but of course if you want to do this then please do it! It was super fun.

 

7 thoughts on “Book Tag Saturday: Ringing In the New Year!

  1. I still need to see the Before I Fall movie! I absolutely adored the book 🙂 And I haven’t read a Rowell book just yet but I’ve heard so many good things about Fangirl. I have Carry On but haven’t jumped into it just yet. And the Lunar Chronicles is an excellent series! I haven’t read Winter just yet, but I’m really excited to see how the story ends even though it’ll break my heart to leave the Lunar world. Great tag, Jamie! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Aww, lucky!! I bought it in hardcover because I couldn’t wait for it in paperback (even though I still haven’t gotten to it yet) 😂 And 16 is great!! A lot of the books I logged this year are like small, 150 page books I have to read for class so my number is probably higher than it should be 😂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The Hardcover is so pretty!!! And yes- but we’ve only read two for now in my English class. Yet I’m logging “The Nose” by Nikolai Gogol which is only 18 pages because I deserve it since I did not like that book 😂 They still count nevertheless!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

