10 Books that Became Unexpected Favorites

Welcome back to Top Ten Tuesday everybody! This weekly feature is, as always, created and hosted by the lovely people @ The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s theme is: Ten Books I Loved Less/More Than I Thought I Would (recently or all time) 

I picked 10 books that caught me off guard with how good they were! Here are 10 of my unexpectedly favorite books:


catching

I wasn’t expecting much from this one since I only gave three stars to the first book, but this book blew me away. It was so. good. The arena and the contestants were all so much more interesting and complex than they were in the first and I enjoyed reading it so much. It’s one of the very few books I gave 5 stars to.

song

I don’t expect much from contemporaries to start with, but a contemporary with a girl who hates life yet wants to be a DJ? I did not think this book would appeal to me at all. I thought it’d just be angst-y and pretentious. I only picked it up because I loved the cover and it was at a library. (story of my life, right?) But boy was wrong. I loved the main character so much and the friendships she made and the lessons she learned. And now I think DJ-ing is pretty cool. I actually just bought it recently so I could reread it. 10/10 would recommend.

adventure

Basically exactly like the last one, I didn’t think I would love this because 1) it’s a contemporary and 2) I hated the main character in the first few chapters. But I fell in love with the writing, the humor, and the friendships, and eventually the main character won me over. I love it so.

you

You don’t really go into a horror book from the perspective of a stalker thinking, “I’m going to enjoy this”. When I started this, all I felt was that when this book was over I would never walk by myself at night ever again. But this book…gets into your head. I actually started liking Joe (aka the stalker) and even started rooting for him at some points. It’s told so well and the narrative is amazing. This book does things to you.

number

I’ve always liked Sophie Kinsella’s books, but sometimes they’re a little too fluffy for me. All her books are 3-4 star territory for me. But this book was amazing. I gave it 5 stars and I’m still not sure exactly why. This book hit all the right spots for me. I was so invested in these characters and it was just the right amount of fluffy, serious, and hilarious. I really need to reread this!!

invisible
bonus: flip the cover upside down

This book was crazy. The only reason I read this was because it was on a list of ‘623 best books ever written’ and I wanted a short book to start with. But I clicked with Palahniuk’s writing style instantly. He has one of the most unique voices I’ve ever read. It took me a while to warm up to the characters, but once I started to like them I could not put this book down. If you ask me what this book is about, I don’t think I’d be able to tell you because it’s extremely weird and all over the place, but, like, in a good way.

heir

The only book in the Selection series I gave over 3 stars! I was expecting to hate this book because everyone else seems to. Or at least, everyone seems to hate the new main character. But I really liked her! And her ‘suitors’. She had her annoying moments, but I liked her way better than America. This series suddenly doesn’t seem like a chore to finish anymore.

unexpected

I could make the obvious ‘well this is unexpected’ joke but I won’t! I’m rising above it. (Even though… I kinda just said it.) Again, like most contemporaries, I go in expecting an enjoyable but middle-of-the-road book. But this book had so much heart to it. It really prioritized relationships (of all kinds: romantic, platonic, family) and it was just so cute. I could not stop smiling while reading this and I honestly didn’t want it to end. Morgan Matson….if you want to write a sequel to this…I will read it the day it comes out.

future

As interesting as the premise of two friends finding their future Facebook pages was, I was basically setting myself up for disappointment with this one because I didn’t really like Jay Asher’s other book: Thirteen Reasons Why. But I ended up getting so invested in the story and the possibilities tied to seeing yourself in the future on Facebook, and I even tried to solve the mysteries along with the characters. I honestly had so much fun reading this I finished it in like two days. (Which, to preface, I’m not normally able to do.)

give

This book got off to a really rocky start for me. I didn’t like the direction it was going and the characters weren’t doing anything for me. But, for lack of a better term, it really grew on me. The more I thought about the story, the more I liked it, and I started to like the characters more and I got used to the eccentric writing style. By the end, I loved it and wanted to reread it immediately. (But alas, it had to be returned to the library)


That’s my top 10! Did you read any of these books? Did you love them or did they disappoint you? What are some of your unexpectedly fave books?? Let me know! (And feel free to link  to your TTTs, of course)

ALSO: Sorry I haven’t been as active in my commenting and liking lately!! I still love you guys, don’t worry. I’ve just been super busy with midterm work and projects and all that fun stuff. I can see the light at the end of the tunnel though and I’ll be back more regularly soon!!

7 thoughts on “10 Books that Became Unexpected Favorites

  1. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed This Song Will Save Your Life, The Unexpected Everything, and IGYTS! I liked the first two but unfortunately am not a big fan of the third one – the writing style just wasn’t for me, though I did appreciate the premise and the focus on family.

    And no worries about not commenting and liking! I haven’t been around that much either – real life always takes precedence. Hope things calm down for you soon. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

