Monthly Wrap-Up: January 2017

Happy February everyone! Let’s all just ignore that this post is like a week late. It’s fine. Time is an illusion.


mwuhead1

 

I read…14 books this month. I don’t think I’ve ever read that many in a month. I don’t think I’ve even reached double digits before. Do I be proud of myself or do I feel bad that I have way too much free time??

Still Life with Tornado by A.S. King

2/5 stars

Terrible. Really bad. Incredibly annoying main character and I hated the writing. But the ending was okay, I guess. Review here.

The Heir by Kiera Cass

4/5 stars

This is the only book in the Selection series that exceeded 3 stars for me and I don’t really know why. I think I just didn’t like America and she was in this book considerably less. (The character names are still the worst, though.)

Finding Audrey by Sophia Kinsella

4/5 stars

So cute!! So funny!! I love Kinsella’s books and this was no exception. Unfortunately has that boy-saves-girl-from-problems trope I but loved everything else. Review here.

Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven

4/5 stars

A feel-good contemporary with a great message! It felt a little too long and I got bored a few times but overall I really liked it.

When the Moon was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore

3.5/5

I really wished a liked this more because it’s so diverse and so important. But I did not connect with the writing at all. Review here.

Heartless by Marissa Meyer

4/5 stars

This is such a great spin on Wonderland!! It felt so magical and imaginative and I loved it. (Except for the ending…) Review here.

2001: A Space Odyssey by Arthur C. Clarke

4/5 stars

I only read this because I had to for my science-fiction class, but I surprisingly loved it?? It’s so good. Definitely deserving of its ‘sci-fi classic’ title.

Not if I See You First by Eric Lindstrom

3/5 stars

Overall, it was enjoyable and reading about a blind protagonist was interesting but…sometimes teenager logic gives me a headache. And this book was full of it. Review here.

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

3/5 stars

Another book I had to read for class…it was a cool concept but unfortunately really repetitive and boring.

The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid

2.5/5

Suuuuuper boring and just not what I expected. There were definitely some aspects I liked but it was painfully slow and weird, plot-wise. Review here.

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

4/5 stars (maybe 3.5?)

I didn’t really care for the characters until the end, but this is one of the most unique fantasy world I’ve read about and I love it. Super excited to read the second one. And the third.

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

4/5 stars

I finally started this series!! And I’m really liking it. I didn’t love this book but it’s a great first for a series. I actually just finished the second book too.

The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

3.5/5 stars

Ehh….I wasn’t into the first half at all but but that ending got to me. My heart has learned how to love again. RTC!

Planet of the Apes by Pierre Boulle

3/5 stars

Yet another book for my sci-fi class. Waaaay longer than it needed to be and kinda weird at times but it was actually a good story.

(Phew, that was a lot. My hand is cramping up. I might limit myself to a good 10 books per month after this.)

mwuhead2

 The Wrath & The Dawn – I…like it so far? I think? The writing is gorgeous but I’m not sure about the characters.

I, Robot – Surprise surprise, another book I have to read for class. It’s actually pretty funny so far though. I like it. Except it hurts my eyes to look at that awful cover.

mwuhead3

I had my birthday last month! I just turned 19, and quite honestly I like being 19. 19 is a nice number. There’s not as much pressure as when you turn 18 and you’re still not in your 20s yet. Basically: nothing happens. Which is great. Other than my birthday, January was really uneventful. (Which is probably how I read 14 books.) I started a lot of new TV shows though.

I have nothing planned for February either, so this month is also probably going to be just as uneventful. Just a lot of school work. And reading. And eating too much chocolate on Valentine’s Day. But no news is good news right??


How was your guys’ January? Or…since this post is so late… how’s your February so far? Did you read any of the books I did? Let me know!

17 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up: January 2017

  1. Don’t worry about this late post LOL. I’ll be posting mine sometime this weekend or the next. My blogging life has taken a backseat recently to Markiplier videos and sleep. But it looks like you had a FABULOUS month of reading in January! I would have LOVED to read that many books 😀 It seems your reading list was diverse in genre and I’m so glad you liked Heartless! I haven’t read any of the others except ToG and Ender’s Game, unfortunately. But I have a few of the others on my list! Can’t wait to read ADSOM 🙂 And I’m eager to see what you think of The Wrath and the Dawn. I thought it was good but not GREAT. Which TV shows have you started?? Oh! Happy (belated) birthday! 😀 Hope your February is off to a great start xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha thanks!! Good to know I’m not the only one getting distracted by YouTube videos 😂 (including Markiplier’s 1 hour long Resident Evil 7 videos lol) And my February is pretty good so far 👌 I’ve started watching A LOT of shows…I have this whole list on my phone to keep track of what episodes I’m on lol. But the best ones I just started are Veep, Arrow, and Buffy the Vampire Slayer. 3 very different shows but I’m loving allllll of them. And ‘good not great’ is EXACTLY how I would describe The Wrath and The Dawn right now…I just can’t get behind Shazi and Khalid’s relationship.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. A girl after my own heart LOL. I watched all his Resident Evil videos, too! His AND PewDiePie’s haha. Also, some of Jacksepticeye’s lol. The game looks stunning and so, so scary. I’d never be able to play it myself haha.
        Oooh Buffy! I wanted to begin that, too! I’ve heard nothing but great things. Glad you’re enjoying them 😀
        And I get you. Their relationship is sweet, but also kind of disturbing if you think about it… haha. The second one is better though!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Haha same! I started watching waaay too many playthroughs of that game but Mark’s was the only one I finished. There’s just not enough hours in the day lol. And I could never play a horror game…I live vicariously through youtubers 😂 And yesss Buffy is SO good so far! It’s way funnier than I expected it to be.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I finished both Pewds and Mark but I definitely preferred Mark’s series over Pewds 😀 And I definitely do too! I’ve heard that Buffy’s pretty funny. I might have to add that to my list. Too many of my shows are serious. I need a good laugh right about now haha

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy late birthday, Jamie! 19 is kind of a random year. XD But I totally agree about The Wrath and the Dawn. I was a little iffy about it at first, but in my opinion, it does get better – they at least become a bit less iffy. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

