Awards! Blogger Recognition Award // Mystery Blogger Award

Blogger Recognition Award

blogger-recognition-award

Thanks @icebreaker694! You are great and totally deserving of this award; thank you for nominating me!

The Rules:

  • Write a post to show your award
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  • Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  • Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  • Select other blogs you want to give the award to

Book Pandamonium: How it All Began (take notes, everyone)

This whole story is just gonna be a huge thank you to my dad, who gave a name to something I didn’t really know existed, so thanks dad!

I’ve always loved reading, but I never really had a desire to build myself a platform to publicly announce all of my opinions of books (partly because I’m scared of all the mean people crawling the internet and my self-confidence can be brought down very easily, probably too easily). But then, I read The Last Star, the final book of the 5th Wave series. And I absolutely hated it. It was the first book I had such strong feelings about. It was the first book I wrote notes in, (now I write notes in all of my books because it’s actually really fun) except the notes were just a bunch of rants and exclamation points. And I realized I needed (or at least, really wanted) to tell people how bad it was. So, that’s essentially where the seed was planted.

Because I didn’t know blogging about books was a thing, I decided that I wanted to create a YouTube channel where I review books. I thought it was ingenious. I did not know booktube was also a thing. I thought I was a virtual Christopher Columbus. But then I quickly backed out, because I needed recording equipment, a recording space, and the ability to not feel embarrassed about talking to a camera, and I had none of those things. So, one day, I was in the car with my parents and I had just expressed interest in working at a publishing house or a newspaper or something like that, and my dad was just like, “why don’t you start a blog about books for experience?” (paraphrasing), and I was like, “yes!! That’s it!! That’s what I want to do!!” (also paraphrasing. I probably just said ‘sure’) And so, like a week later, I discovered the bookish community (and booktube) and decided to take the plunge and hopefully become a part of it. So I did! And here I am. And I’m part of the community and I’m receiving nominations for awards and it feels amazing. And this story was way too long, whoops.

Advice! (Take this with a grain of salt (or like, the whole salt shaker) because I’m still learning things myself):

  1. Comment! Reply to comments! Have discussions! When I first started, I was content on just throwing my reviews at everyone and leaving, like some sort of overly-opinionated ghost. But I quickly learned that was a bad idea. Once I started commenting and receiving comments, I realized how great the people I was following and the people who followed me were and it made me that much more excited to read other bloggers’ posts and to make my own posts worth reading.
  2. Make your blog your own! I know that’s kind of cliche, but it’s super important! Don’t be afraid to find your own voice or to post things that are outside the category of books or whatever it is that your blog focuses on. It’s your blog, your own hard work, and you deserve to make it into whatever you want it to be.

I nominate…


Mystery Blogger Award

mysteryblogger

Thank you to Nadwa @ Painfully Fictional for nominating me! If you’re not following her blog yet you totally should; she makes really cute graphics and great posts! And thanks to Okoto Enigma for creating this award.

The Rules:

  • Put the award logo/image on your blog.
  • List the rules.
  • Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog!
  • Mention the creator of the award and provide a link to their blog as well.
  • Tell your readers 3 things about yourself.
  • You have to nominate 10-20 people.
  • Notify each of your nominees by commenting on their blog.
  • Ask your nominees any 5 questions of your choice; with one weird or funny question (specify).
  • Share your link to your best post(s).

Three things about me:

1. I’m currently obsessed with this TV show called The Good Place

2. I can’t stop playing Final Fantasy XV

3. I always have to be doing at least two things at once (like right now I’m writing this while listening to an audiobook)

Nadwa’s Questions:

1. If you were to live in any fictional world, which one would you choose?

This is a totally unoriginal answer, but the Harry Potter world, for sure.

2. If you could bring one fictional character to life, who would it be?

Oooh, probably the Little Prince from The Little Prince. It would be so interesting to have a conversation with him. (Though I’m not sure if he’d speak English??)

3. Here’s an overrated, cliché question: What book would you bring if you were stranded on an island?

Aside from a survival guide, I’ll choose Fangirl because it’s one of my faves and will probably keep me from going insane.

4. A book that you didn’t expect would make you cry?

It’s Not Me, It’s You, because it was this reall short, fluffy contemporary. But the ending was so cute and I was reading it at like 4 a.m. while listening to cheesy music and I just…started crying…

5. Random: One sort of food you wouldn’t mind eating for the rest of your life?

Garlic bread!! Best food, hands down.

My Questions! :

1. What’s the book that you’ve reread the most times?

2. What’s your favorite book-to-movie adaptation?

3. What was the funniest book you’ve read lately?

4. What’s your favorite book title?

5. Random: Here’s a classic – would you rather live in the city, in the mountains, or by the sea?

I nominate…


Thanks again to icebreaker694 and Nadwa! And to everyone I nominated, there are no obligations if you’ve already been nominated or don’t want to be 👍

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Awards! Blogger Recognition Award // Mystery Blogger Award

Leave a Reply

