Top Ten 2016 Releases I’m Ashamed I Haven’t Read Yet

Welcome back to Top Ten Tuesday, the weekly feature created & hosted by everyone over at The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s theme: Top Ten 2016 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To (But TOTALLY plan to)

NO JUDGING, PLEASE. The things you are about to see are very upsetting and MAY shock some viewers. After this post I’m just going to think about all the books I haven’t read and maybe cry a little. I think the hardest part of joining the bookish community is seeing all the books that everyone raves about being perpetually stuck on my TBR.

Anyway, here they are, in all their mocking glory:

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab – I haven’t read anything by Victoria Schwab yet, actually. But I definitely will. Someday.

Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi – I’m making myself read this for a read-a-thon, otherwise I know I would never get to it. The read-a-thon is going on right now, but I’m still on wait list at my library so I’m just…sitting here…patiently waiting…

Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi – This book came out just when I started watching booktube and everyone was talking about it. I told myself to read it so I could be cool and #relatable. I never did.

The Sun is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon – This is the book I’m going to pick up after I finish the one I’m currently reading, so unless something tragic happens I will read this. Don’t worry.

The Crown by Keira Cass – Soon I will be free from this series. I just need to read this last book. And yet…here we are.

The Hating Game by Sally Thorne – This is probably the one I’m most excited to read. I’ve seen nothing but glowing reviews and I just need a cute love story right now.

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken – Whether people love it or hate it, everyone seems to have read it. I bought it, in hardcover, at full price, and I have not even touched it. Why do I do this?

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard – The hype kinda died down for this one but now that its sequel is coming out, it’s back, I am once again reminded that this book is sitting on my bookshelf, untouched, and probably will be for the rest of eternity.

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare – I have had every opportunity to read this book. I even borrowed it from the library. Except my brain is like, no you have to reread all the Shadowhunters books first because you’ve forgotten everything. Even though that’s completely irrational, it’s what I’m doing. (I’m on the third book now, if anyone was wondering.)

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them by J.K. Rowling – Guess who deliberately bought this book for herself for Christmas and then forgot to pack it with her when she went back to college? Me.


That’s my list! Hopefully I’m not alone and you guys haven’t read some of these either. As always, feel free to link your TTT in the comments, and we can all feel bad about ourselves together.

10 thoughts on “Top Ten 2016 Releases I’m Ashamed I Haven’t Read Yet

  1. There’s no need to feel bad at all, and no judgment is being passed. Out of your list I’ve only read This Savage Song, TSIAAS, and The Hating Game… and I enjoy them all, though perhas This Savage Song and TSIAAS a bit (or a lot) more than THG. There are too many good books, too little time to read them all so we all have to pick and choose. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s too true 😂 and thank u for saying so! I know it’s fine, but since becoming a blogger I’ve seen SO many new books in so little time and it’s a little overwhelming 😅. And I should be starting TSIAAS soon (hopefully not tonight) and I’m super excited

      Like

  2. Haha, no judgement here! So many of us have hyped up books that will sit on our TBR for quite a while before we get to them. I haven’t read any of these books except Lady Midnight LOL. But I really hope I can get to Passenger, This Vicious Song, and The Sun is Also a Star sometime this spring semester! Good luck and happy reading! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

