December Monthly Wrap-Up

Happy new year everybody!! You can’t see me but pretend I’m popping confetti cannons. I’m so glad 2016 is behind us…hopefully 2017 will be a better year.


mwuhead1

Whoops…I only read 5 books this month. Which, really, isn’t that bad. But you’ll see where I went wrong when I get to what books I’m currently reading. (Hint: it’s because I’m terrible at time management.)

P.S. I Still Love You (To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before #2) by Jenny Han

3/5 stars

I FINALLY made it through this. I wasn’t enjoying it at all, but I will admit that it got way better near the end. I’m still not sure if I want to read the third book, but I know I have to now. I mean, I’ve come this far. Review here.

This Adventure Ends by Emma Mills

4/5 stars

I’m not sure if I was in a slump when I read this, but I was in the habit of starting a book and then getting bored and putting it down only to start more books that I got bored of and put down. But this book unexpectedly broke me out of whatever weird thing I was doing. This book is so. good. and it completely enraptured me. RTC.

My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories by A Whole Lotta People

3/5 stars

This book was a collection of short holiday stories and it was the perfect book to read around Christmastime. is that even a word Some of the stories weren’t that great, but there were some gems in there. They were all entertaining in their own ways, to say the least. Review here.

Samhain Island (Samhain Island #1) by Taylor Thomas

3/5

This book is pretty special to me because it is the first book I got for free in exchange for a review. Yes, I know. I’m finally an official book reviewer. Hold your applause, please. This book was so fun to read and I loved the plot, even if there were some glaring holes in it. You can see my review on my Goodreads!

The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis

3.5/5 stars

AKA the book I blindly picked up to speed read when I realized there were only 2 days left in the year. AKA not the best book for speed reading. This book is an extremely important and in-depth portrayal of rape culture, and it deserves time and undivided attention, not to be read in a panicked state. I did enjoy this book, but I picked the worst time to read it. RTC, maybe.
mwuhead2

Remember when I said I kept starting and stopping books? Yeah. Here they all are. An homage to all the terrible mistakes I make in my life.  

The Diabolic – It’s…okay. It’s certainly a fun world to read about but I’m still waiting for that point where I start to care about it and it hasn’t come yet.

Still Life With Tornado – This book is the worst. Notice how ‘the worst’ is both bolded and italicized for major emphasis. It’s really, really bad. I need to finish it so I can write a review, but it feels very close to torture.

Heartless – I’m loving this book!! I’m still near the beginning but there is nothing negative I have to say.

Holding Up the Universe – I’m cautiously optimistic about this one. I’ve seen a lot of negative reviews but so far it’s been really enjoyable. I’m still not at the halfway point yet, and I feel like I’m bracing myself for a crash landing.

The Heir (The Selection #4) – It’s as fluffy and entertaining as the rest of the series, and I think I like Eadlyn more than America. Although the character names continue to be the actual worst.

untitled-2

I’m gonna miss December. It was a pretty good month for me. I headed back home immediately after my finals were over and now I’ve spent about two weeks at my house just hanging out with my family and it’s been the best. I have to go back to uni in two days and won’t get another break until March but shhhh we’re not going to think about that right now.

I’m also participating in my first read-a-thon, which started today (January 1st), and that’s both exciting and overwhelming. I have to read 7 books in 14 days…along with the 5 other books that I’m in the middle of now. Oh man. What have I done.


We’ve made it out of 2016 alive!! How was your guys’ December? How was your guys’ year? I feel like if I ever did a 2016 yearly wrap-up it would just be a lot of gifs of people screaming and things on fire. Although, the summer was nice. A lot of Pokemon Go and relaxation. Anyway, if you guys read any of the books I did this month, feel free to discuss or leave a link to your review! Here’s wishing us all a great January and a great 2017.

4 thoughts on “December Monthly Wrap-Up

    1. Glad you liked Holding Up The Universe so much!! I feel less worried about finishing it now, lol. And yeah, Heartless is getting a lot of 4 stars and not a lot of 5s, maybe because we all know how it’s going to end? But I would definitely recommend it from what I’ve read so far; the world is beautifully written, the characters are all interesting, and the love interest is pretty swoon-worthy.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

