P.S. I Still Love You: If Cotton Candy Was A Book | Book Review

psTitle: P.S. I Still Love You (To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before #2)

Author: Jenny Han

Published:  May 26th 2015 by Simon & Schuster

Genres: YA, Contemporary, Romance

Goodreads Synopsis:

Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.
She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever.
When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?

In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Times bestseller To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara Jean. Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of what makes it so amazing.

My Rating: 3/5 stars

3-stars

(Man…for someone who claims she doesn’t read contemporary that much, I sure am reading a whole lot of it.)


“Lara Jean, I think you half-fall in love with every person you meet. It’s part of your charm. You’re in love with love.”

This book was so, so sweet, for better and for worse. Jenny Han definitely does a great job of capturing the essence of childhood and making me nostalgic for the good ol’ days  aka only like 2 years ago but shh  but sometimes it feels like there’s a sweetness overload and I need to be brought back down to reality immediately. I feel like a bitter old lady for not being happy about how great things are in this book. If you love cute family moments and fluffy romance and happily-ever-afters, this is a great book for you. This would probably be the first book I’d recommend for romantics. I, however, just kept rolling my eyes into the next century while reading this.

Reading this book is like eating a ton of candy; it’s amazing for a while, but then you get a toothache and have to lie down for a while because you might throw up. For me, the first book was the good part of eating candy, and starting this book, the second one in the series, I was pretty much sick of it when I started.

There’s something really weird this book does, where every bad thing that happens is cushioned. Lara Jean, our main character, has a pretty charmed life. She lives in a nice house, she has two sisters and a dad who are supportive and loving, she has a job, she’s super cute, she’s really good at baking, and there’s like three guys who are in love with her (which is kinda insane.) This book deals with some more serious issues than the first one, which is great, BUT it was hard for me to grasp the severity of them. Lara Jean’s life is great, and then it takes a small dip, and then it’s great again. Then there’s another small dip and then it gets better. Repeat, repeat, repeat. Jenny Han never really went in-depth with these issues, and I feel like this book had a lot of missed opportunities. The feeling was there, but it was always stopped short.

Plus, Lara Jean just finds herself caught in these pleasant surprises that would never happen in real life. Like this really hot guy finds out she used to like him and poof now he’s back in town and there’s a love triangle. And her dad needs to start dating again so poof there’s a divorced and beautiful neighbor for him. Separately, these examples aren’t that cliche and are pretty fun to read about, but there was just so many instances like that in this book I just ended up annoyed.

Okay, now on to the good things!! This review is turning out way more rant-y than I wanted it to be, because I actually liked the book, contrary to literally everything I just said. I love Lara Jean, naive and sugary-sweet as she is, and her amazing fashion sense and extraordinary baking skills. There are so many times in this book where Lara Jean would be baking and I’ve wanted to eat everything. Jenny Han has a talent when it comes to describing food.

And, of course, the romance. Even though I criticized this book for being too sweet, I am still a sucker for romance. Lara Jean just has so much love to give and she does some pretty crazy things because of it, which results in these really great scenarios. My favorite thing, though, is Lara Jean’s relationship with her family. The tight bond between the three sisters and their dad is honestly the main reason why I wanted to keep reading this series, because it never fails to make me happy. And I am definitely reading the third book, because I cannot get enough of them.

And John!! John Ambrose McClaren, aka Love Interest #2, is one of the most adorable boys I’ve ever read about. Which is great, because he entered the picture as soon as I started to get annoyed with Peter, so now I’m rooting for him. (Sorry, all of you who love Peter….#teamjohn)


Have you read this series? How do you feel about Lara Jean? Are you Team Peter or Team John? Let me know!!

One thought on “P.S. I Still Love You: If Cotton Candy Was A Book | Book Review

Leave a Reply

