November Monthly Wrap-Up

Happy December!! We’ve finally reached my favorite month of the year. November was alright for me. (election aside) It was better than October, at least. I just recently got back to uni after my Thanksgiving break, which was great, but now finals are near and due dates for projects and 6-page papers are rapidly approaching and I’m freaking out a little bit. And by a little bit, I mean a lot.

mwuhead1

I read 9 books this month???? I haven’t done that in a while. Or maybe ever. Good for me, I guess. You guys weren’t kidding when you said starting a book blog would make you read more.

1. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

5/5 stars!

This book has burrowed its way into my cold, unloving heart. The writing is gorgeous and so are the characters. Full review here! The review is just me rambling and throwing quotes in your face. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

2. Diplomatic Immunity by Brodi Ashton

2/5 stars

It’s a predicable and unoriginal story, but it’s an enjoyable one nonetheless. There’s just a lot of slut-shaming and racist remarks that made me uncomfortable. Full review here.

3. Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan (Percy Jackson #3)

4/5 stars

Riordan does it again! Plus this is the book where Thalia actually does stuff and Nico is introduced, so that’s always good.

4. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

3/5 stars

It was far from being a bad book, but it just didn’t live up to the hype for me. Plus there were some questionable things that made the book seem unrealistic. Mini review here.

5. The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

4/5

Such a cute, light read- despite it being over 500 pages. This book dealt with some great themes, and the characters will stick with me for a looooong time. Mini review here.

6. Truly, Madly, Guilty by Liane Moriarty

DNF

This book was so boring. The first half of the book is just a “suspenseful” build-up to this big problem that all the characters are tiptoeing around, but I didn’t care enough about it. The writing is great, though.

7. You by Caroline Kepnes (You #1)

4/5 stars

A book that claims to be creepy and unsettling and actually delivers. All the characters were terrible, but I loved to hate them. It was a little slow in the middle, but it’s worth it for the ending. Full review here.

8. It’s Not Me, It’s You by Stephanie Kate Strohm

4/5 stars (maybe 3.5?)

I’d describe this book as a hidden gem. I’ve seen 0 hype and got it out of the library purely because of the cover. But then I ended up really enjoying it. It felt like a cheesy Disney channel movie but in the best way. It felt longer than it needed to be, though, but the characters were fantastic. RTC!

9. A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir (An Ember in the Ashes #2)

4/5 stars

I don’t think I loved this book as much as An Ember in the Ashes, but it was still an amazing book. It was a seamless continuation and I love how the plot is unfolding. I can’t wait for the third one!

mwuhead2

P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han (To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before #2)

 I have been trudging through this book for over a month and I’m only 65% done. It’s not good, you guys. If I could go back and tell myself to only read the first book in this series, I would. But I’m finishing this. I have to. I’ve wasted too much time to give up now.

The Program by Suzanne Young (The Program #1)

 I wrote down my entire TBR (over 200 books!! yikes!!) on little cut-up index cards and put them all in a jar so I can choose at random. This is the first title I picked, and I’m pretty excited for it. It reminds me of the Delirium series so far, which I really enjoyed. So, fingers crossed.

untitled-2

As I mentioned before and as you guys already know because you all (hopefully) have a solid concept of time, it’s December!! It’s my favorite time of the year. My mom got me an advent calendar and it’s already started snowing and I’m storing up Christmas playlists like a squirrel with acorns. I’m even drinking coffee out of a Christmas cup. Ignoring the mountain of work I still have to do before the fall semester is over, I’m pretty happy right now.

And November marked my first full month of blogging, (!!!) since I started October 22nd. And it was great. I’m still learning things, I still don’t  have a solid schedule down, and my graphics skills could use a little more practice, but this has been so much fun for me.

meblogging
me, blogging for hours on end and procrastinating literally everything else

How did November treat you guys? Are y’all getting into the holiday season? I’ve been in the holiday mood for months. Also, if you have reviews/thoughts on the books I’ve read this month, link me to your posts because I’d totally love to read them!

2 thoughts on “November Monthly Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

