Everything, Everything & The Unexpected Everything | Mini Reviews

everythingx2

 

Title: Everything, Everything

Author: Nicola Yoon

Published: September 1st 2015 by Delacorte

Genre(s): YA, Contemporary, Romance

Goodreads Synopsis:

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

My rating: 3/5 stars

3-stars

What can I say about this book other than: eh. Okay, obviously, I can say a lot more. But that was seriously my first thought after finishing it. Eh. More specifically, this book was just okay. It had its balance of good things and bad things. And then it had the thing. Those of you who also read this, you know what I’m talking about.

Pros:

-Interracial main character: Madeline is Japanese-African American, and the book didn’t do that thing where they mention a character isn’t white once and then never again. Her appearance was mentioned a lot, which was nice.

Originality: This book is so different. It’s about a girl who’s allergic to the world, and it was interesting to read about all the procedures she has to go through and how much impact her illness has on everything she does.

Cute format!: I loved the little drawings and charts and graphs that Maddie made. Unfortunately, I listened to the audiobook, which ignored the pictures but would say the words inside of the pictures, like if there was a graph, the narrator would just list all of the variables, which took an extremely long time and also I had no idea what was going on because, you know, I couldn’t see the graph. I had to check the physical book out at the library once I finished the audiobook because I was so confused. Anyway, if you decide to read the book, don’t go for the audiobook. Don’t make my mistakes.

Oliver: What an adorable ball of sunshine. I love him.

Cons:

Instalove:…..ugh.

Madeline: I didn’t…like Madeline. Which is entirely subjective, but it really ruined the story for me because honestly I didn’t care whether she ended up with Oliver or not. Whoops?

Madeline pt. 2: Her actions were just so stupid sometimes. Like, she has a life-threatening illness that can kill her at any time when she’s outside and what does she decide to do??? Go to Hawaii. Which you know, I can move past, seeing as she has rarely ever been outside and is kind of going through a rebellious phase, but she tells her nurse she’s leaving and her nurse does nothing. She doesn’t even call up Maddie’s mom to be like oh hey, by the way, I saw your daughter and her boyfriend earlier. They’re catching the next flight for Hawaii. So should I pick up my paycheck now or tomorrow? It was so unrealistic.

The ending: It was so strange and unexpected. I had to pause and check the last couple pages because it honestly felt like an ending to a different book shoved into this one. It was just…really weird.

This is neither a pro nor a con because I don’t know how to feel about it but it’s big so I should include it:

The Plot Twist™: What??? What??? This twist at the end just really turned the story on its head. On one hand, it kind of nullified literally everything that happened prior to the twist, which you know, was like 90% of the book, but on the other hand it made me want to read it again to look for signs of foreshadowing. It really added a new depth to the story, which I liked.

eh
live footage of me trying to figure out what’s going on

unexpected

Title: The Unexpected Everything

Author: Morgan Matson

Published: May 3rd 2016 by Simon & Schuster

Genre(s): YA, Contemporary, Romance

Goodreads Synopsis:

Andie had it all planned out. When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future. Important internship? Check. Amazing friends? Check. Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks).

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life. Because here’s the thing—if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected. And where’s the fun in that?

My rating: 4/5 stars

4-stars

*First of all, congrats to this book for making it to the final round of Best YA Fiction 2016 on Goodreads!!*

I’m not crying, you’re crying. It’s not even that emotional of a book and yet I was tearing up at the end because I really wanted to keep reading. This world enraptured me, honestly. I could read about Andie and her friends for a looooong time and not get bored of them.

Pros:

The characters!!: This book really prioritized friendship. Sure, it was mainly about Andie and Clark’s romance, but it also placed a huge emphasis on how she communicated with her friend group and a growth in a more healthy relationship with her dad. Like, there’s a scene with a huge scavenger hunt and it shows how close everyone is and then her dad gets involved and it was so cute and I was smiling the whole time.

The setting: It took place over the span of summer break before senior year (of high school) and even though I read this in November, it was so easy to imagine myself back to summer. There was this lazy, warm feeling throughout the book and I loved it.

THE ENDING: I don’t know why the ending got to me so much. Okay, so it was pretty cheesy in Andie and Clark’s area, but I like how not everything was resolved. Some things take time, and the author didn’t rush to the end of it just so the characters can get their happy ending.

-The dogs: obviously.

Cons:

-Andie, sometimes: She’s just so stubborn. I can’t understand why she makes the choices that she does. Sometimes I just wanted to shake her and yell No! Bad! Don’t do that! Which leads to….

-The Conflict™: Ohhh, it was so cliché. And so fast. Andie participates in Bad Decision #1873 and all of her relationships suffer for it. But everything collapses in the span of like, 20 pages which is too much in too little a time. Part of the conflict kind of obviously did not need to happen, but I feel like the author made it happen just to make the fall harder and the redemption better. Which is pretty cheap.


Things these books had in common:

-Contemporary YA

-Have “Everything” in the title

-Both main characters make the stupidest decisions


Those are my reviews! What did you guys think of these books? What are your thoughts on the Everything, Everything plot twist? Are y’all excited for the movie that’s coming out??What did you think of the ending for The Unexpected Everything? (please tell me if you cried too so I feel less ashamed about it) Let me know!!

One thought on “Everything, Everything & The Unexpected Everything | Mini Reviews

Leave a Reply

