Pokemon Go Book Tag: EXTREMELY LATE TO THE PARTY

Hello! This is an amazing tag created by Aentee over at Read At Midnight waaay back in July. I know it’s almost November. Don’t judge me. Pokemon Go is getting a Halloween update. Also:it’s never too late to talk about pokemon. Also also: all the pokemon graphics in this tag were made by Aentee.

pokemon-tag-01starters

This one’s easy: A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle. It was the book that first started my love for reading and writing. though i still don’t know how to pronounce her last name It was one of, if not the first, fantasy books I’ve ever read, and I loved it. I was like: books can do this? Just make up things that aren’t real and get away with it?? I wrote a lot of fantasy based stories after that. They were all very weird and unfinished. (For example: Seasons as people. A girl allergic to the color red.) Granted, I was very young when I read this and had virtually no clue as to what was going on. There was a lot of math and physics involved, but there were also pictures so I was fine with it.

pokemon-tag02pikachu

There’s a lot to choose from but I’m going to go with a book I read more recently: And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie.  I just knew it was going to be an instant favorite as I was reading it. It was the perfect mystery. And there’s so many elements to unpack and so many scenes to analyse and look for hints in that I’m not going to get bored of the story any time soon.

pokemon-tag-03-zubat

Oh boy. Moment of truth. Divergent by Veronica Roth. I bought it at the height of the craze, but now it’s just sitting on my bookshelf. Gathering dust. I can’t do it.

pokemon-tag-04-ditto

I love ditto. Look at his goofy face and flailing arms.

Similarly, I also love The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. But it’s not…that original. It’s got people killing each other in a controlled environment until there’s only one winner (Battle Royale) and a love triangle (too many books to name….too many…) but it’s still a beautiful book.

pokemon-tag-05-snorlax

AKA my entire TBR pile. It’s hard to pick just one. But for a series, I’ll go with the Mistborn trilogy by Brandon Sanderson. It has such great ratings and reviews and the cover is beautiful and the plot seems so interesting but the size. Look at them: 12199810-_uy200_

pokemon-tag06-gengar

I’m not going to mention a horror book, because in my experience none of the books I’ve read made me scared enough to lose sleep. So, probably A Fault in Our Stars by John Green. While I don’t think it’s a particularly great book now, I was a mess when I got an autographed copy back in 2012. I was so excited I finished it in one night and cried…so much….You think a 14 year old me could go to sleep after that ending? No way.

pokemon-tag07-nidokingqueen

This is like asking me to pick my favorite child. After much consideration: Seraphina and Lucian from Seraphina by Rachel Hartman. They’re so perfect for each other???? I’m a sucker for slow burning romance, especially when there’s dragons involved. Be still my beating heart.

pokemon-tag08-rapidash

The Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan, for sure. I’m only on the third book, but the first two have taken me less than 2 days to read. They’re small but there’s so much plot and action and humor packed in to them it’s amazing. 

pokemon-tag09-eevee

I gotta go with Pride and Prejudice for this one. The story is just so good. I loved the movie (the 2005 version, obviously), I loved Pride & Prejudice & Zombies (also the movie), I loved Longbourn, and I loved the Lizzie Bennet Diaries on YouTube. I love, I love, I love.

pokemon-tag14-magikarp

I still don’t have a gyarados… I’m a disgrace to the pokemon community.

This is kind of a weird one. I have to say I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella. I love Kinsella’s other books so I already had high expectations for this one and it was still better than I thought it would be. I gave it 5 stars. I don’t know what happened. It was so good.

pokemon-tag12-legendary

The Six of Crows duology!! I feel ashamed that I haven’t read it because everyone has and everyone raves about it. I’ve yet to see one negative review. I’m so excited.

pokemon-tag15mew-mewtwo

Not sure if this counts, but the new Harry Potter illustrated books. I feel like I just need all the covers that exist for Harry Potter, but the illustrated versions are so pretty…and glossy..I want them so bad.

pokemon-tag10-egg

Caraval by Stephanie Garber!!!! I’m so excited!! It’s been compared to The Night Circus, which is one of my favorite books of all time. Any book with magic and mystery is an instant to-read. I’m entered in this book’s giveaway on Goodreads, so fingers crossed!!

pokemon-tag11-lure-module

Alright, I know she hasn’t done much recently, but: Jaclyn Moriarty. I was obsessed with the Ashbury/Brookfield series, but she hasn’t released a book since 2014…come back to me Jaclyn

pokemon-tag13-server-down

Oh, this screen. The blue screen of death. I can’t even look at it.

I don’t really know a good answer for this question. I’m more of a I-don’t-know-what-books-are-coming-out-until-I-see-them-in-a-store type person. But, I would like Cassandra Clare to finish her Shadowhunters universe before I read them all. I read the first four books in The Mortal Instruments series and the first two in the Infernal Devices series but I’ve forgotten most of the plot. There’s just so much going on.


I’m not tagging anyone since I’m so late to the tag but if you see this and it looks like fun, then by all means, do it!! That’s what I did!


Are you guys like me and still playing pokemon GO? What’s you favorite pokemon? (mine’s ninetales. so majestic) Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

